+38044 200 18 18, +38044 360 66 23, +38067 320 30 23, +38050 357 33 26 yanagallery@gmail.com

«How many myself I remember, always knew that I will be the artist», – Dmitry Nagurnyj – «since the childhood …» speaks. Since the childhood which has passed on an ancient Kiev Hem. Romantic, mysterious, thieves’, dirty. To pure the dirt does not stick. Also has not stuck. «Could become and the hooligan», – Nagurnyj admits. – «The Higher forces have saved me». The higher forces, and still those terrestrial reference points which were before eyes. First of all – the father. The outstanding personality, the amateur artist which and in the son has developed love to painting.

Itself”is a keyword to comprehension of person Nagurnogo. Truly, he has created itself(himself): self-discipline, self-education, self-expression.

When (after several unsuccessful attempts) at last has arrived in the Kiev Art institute on picturesque faculty, it had already conceptual internal program. It is natural that at once became the leader for did not wait for a god-send, and strenuously worked, breaking own complexes. He tried to “mould” from itself(himself) the free artist, valves of its heart were always open for all fresh, not ordinary.

Life of Nagurnogo developed hardly and uneasy. It never went on compromises. It was always proud and independent – not all such arrange. Absolutely there is no at it a feeling of envy. He at anybody does not look back. Therefore, probably, also there is now «a phenomenon of Nagurnogo» the artist possessing clearness of professional thinking, magnificent drawing and so high culture.

Its words: «the Person of the artist is its plastic style, its formula of expression» and still: «the Artist should be in vanity, know underlying reason of art life». It is truth about it, with one only specification – not only art. Нагурный has proved it when in the summer of 1986, after failure on ЧАЭС has gone to a Chernobyl zone, swallowed of a radiating dust, did sketches from nature. It is impossible to disagree now, – that it is the certificate of the highest civic courage.

Today Nagurnyj, with its negation of totalitarianism, with its aspiration to freedom (at the time of general несвободы) with its directly dog “scent” (on a Japanese horoscope it – “dog”) on original, present (in life and art), by the 43 years has found freedom, has found, has realised the price. The wife, the friend, a muse – Olga has helped it with it.

The art studio in the centre of Kiev is simple, convenient for work and is artistic simultaneously. Together with the owner the dog of Chunja picked up in the street lives in it.

Outwardly Nagurnyj – is harmonous, sports. Reserved manners, good literary speech. Reads much? «To tell that I widely-read, – am impossible. I read not all. In the beginning I”sniff”at the book, language, I get into style, how the writer« moulds the form ».

Favourite artists? In its creativity influence кватроченто (conditionally – the period of the early Renaissance) – especially Pero of business of Franchesko is notable. «Cezanne as the genius, has taught me to think in is figurative-plastic categories. Pavel Filonov was an idol when I was formed. Above all I appreciate Old Russian art, an iconography, architecture, the Ukrainian baroque».

Нагурный wanted to become and became the sculptor of monuments. There lived in his soul dream «to spend life on rafters», grandiose frescos, a mosaic – in utopian Cities of the Sun were represented. The dream and reality rupture “provoked” by the life, Nagurnogo has cooled. Work of the sculptor of monuments in modern conditions has seemed to it not enough the interesting.

«The artist should have the concept, the vision of the world. And, of course, freedom. It is purer and closer to me on spirit». Whether there was “new” Nagurnyj? Probably, yes. But, I think, fidelity to itself is distinctly traced in its creativity, thus being pledge always new, courageous, not ordinary that this surprisingly complete artist creates.

How Nagurnyj works? «Ratsio or intuition?» – inevitably there is this question in its workshop. Both that, and another. Рацио – from design, intuition – from God … Natural feeling of a composition. In the beginning the small drawing, the embodied thought plastic “formula” of an image. «For itself has verified idea – the hand conducts you, all your being pulses.« The volume “is moulded” by a brush, weight of a paint. Surprising, incomprehensible, apparently, only to it one accessible system of a glaze. Colouring, its blinking, depth. And any especial «сделанность» works, high “accuracy” of the form.

The preference gives to a canvas. To a primordial material of painting, it is surprising платичному to a material. «Contact to a canvas – the certificate of the highest revelation».

Works under music: art fate. Loves Haydn, Mozart, Musorgsky. The City theme (from capital letter) is distinctly traced in creativity of the artist. Work «the Archangel leaving a city». The favourite Kiev, so варварски destroyed – the destroyed monuments, the rented “old” houses. Archangel Michael – an ancient municipal arm. Now he leaves it. Whether will return?

Other canvas which and “City” is called. Here frank designing of an image – a city – a symbol.

Following development of this theme: the Demon, the Chernobyl Phantom which has hung over all of us and over a city. The surrealistic picture, which associative array conducts to a gate of a hell and paradise gate. We – in “zone”, «under a cap», and an exit from it – spiritual clarification – such is model of the artist.

Pictures of Nagurnogo give rise to sensation of any grandiose generality. Possibly, it is a generality of people in the face of ecological accident, affinity in a grief and need.

Recently Nagurnogo more and more attract is formal-stylistic searches. Sometimes it – almost on Frensisu Bacon – a fruit of “changing influence of the cultivated accidents of a paint» (“Bridge”), sometimes the thought embodied in «rhythmic idea» (“Reflection”).

Recently Nagurnyj has come back from Lithuania – worked two months with group of artists in the creativity House in Palange. Has brought therefrom many new works and strong impressions. «From Ukraine now take out spiritual riches – speaks with bitterness, – and ourselves give all without discrimination. It is pernicious for culture. And in Lithuania all it becomes seriously, structurally, favourably for a society, and for the artist. I want, that and at us so was».

Nina Veligodsky,
канд. Art criticism

+38044 200 18 18, +38044 360 66 23, +38067 320 30 23, +38050 357 33 26 yanagallery@gmail.com

«Сколько сам себя помню, всегда знал, что буду художником», — говорит Дмитрий Нагурный – «с самого детства…». С детства, которое прошло на древнем киевском Подоле. Романтичном, таинственном, воровском, грязном. К чистому грязь не пристает. И не пристала. «Мог стать и хулиганом», — признается Нагурный. – «Высшие силы меня уберегли». Высшие силы, и еще те земные ориентиры, которые были перед глазами. Прежде всего – отец. Яркая личность, самодеятельный художник, который и в сыне развил любовь к живописи.

«Сам» — это ключевое слово к постижению личности Нагурного. Воистину, он сам себя создал: самодисциплина, самообразование, самовыражение.

Когда (после нескольких неудачных попыток) наконец поступил в Киевский Художественный институт на живописный факультет, у него была уже концептуальная внутренняя программа. Естественно, что сразу стал лидером, ибо не ждал манны небесной, а усиленно работал, сокрушая свои собственные комплексы. Он пытался «вылепить» из себя свободного художника, клапаны его сердца всегда были открыты для всего свежего, неординарного.

Жизнь Нагурного складывалась нелегко и непросто. Он никогда не шел на компромиссы. Всегда был горд и независим – не всех такие устраивают. Начисто отсутствует у него чувство зависти. Он ни на кого не оглядывается. Поэтому, наверное, и существует нынче «феномен Нагурного» художника, обладающего четкостью профессионального мышления, великолепным рисунком и столь же высокой культурой.

Его слова: «Лицо художника – это его пластический стиль, его формула выражения» и еще: «Художник должен находиться в суете, знать подоплеку художественной жизни». Это правда про него, с одним только уточнением – не только художественной. Нагурный доказал это, когда летом 1986 года, после аварии на ЧАЭС поехал в чернобыльскую зону, глотал радиационную пыль, делал зарисовки с натуры. Нельзя нынче не согласиться, — что это – акт высочайшего гражданского мужества.

Сегодня Нагурный, с его отрицанием тоталитаризма, с его стремлением к свободе (во времена всеобщей несвободы) с его прямо-таки собачьим «нюхом» (по японскому гороскопу он – «собака») на подлинное, настоящее (в жизни и искусстве), к своим 43 годам обрел свободу, нашел себя, осознал свою цену. Помогла ему в этом жена, друг, муза – Ольга.

Мастерская художника в центре Киева проста, удобна для работы и артистична одновременно. Вместе с хозяином обитает в ней, подобранная на улице собака Чуня.

Внешне Нагурный – строен, спортивен. Сдержанные манеры, хорошая литературная речь. Много читает? «Сказать, что я начитанный, — нельзя. Читаю далеко не все. Вначале «обнюхиваю» книгу, язык, проникаю в стиль, в то, как писатель «лепит форму».

Любимые художники? В его творчестве ощутимо влияние кватроченто (условно – период раннего Ренессанса) – особенно Пьеро дела Франческо. «Сезанн, как гений, научил меня мыслить в образно-пластических категориях. Павел Филонов был кумиром, когда я формировался. Превыше всего ценю именно старорусское искусство, иконографию, архитектуру, украинское барокко».

Нагурный хотел стать и стал монументалистом. Жила в его душе мечта «провести жизнь на стропилах», представлялись грандиозные фрески, мозаика – в утопических Городах Солнца. Разрыв мечты и реальности, «провоцируемый» самой жизнью, Нагурного охладил. Сама работа монументалиста в современных условиях показалась ему мало интересной.

«Художник должен иметь свою концепцию, свое видение мира. И, конечно, свободу. Это чище и ближе мне по духу». Появился ли «новый» Нагурный? Возможно, да. Но, думаю, верность самому себе отчетливо прослеживается в его творчестве, при этом являясь залогом всегда нового, смелого, неординарного, что создает этот удивительно целостный художник.

Как Нагурный работает? «Рацио или интуиция?» — неизбежно возникает этот вопрос в его мастерской. И то, и другое. Рацио – от дизайна, интуиция – от Бога… Природное чувство композиции. Вначале маленький рисунок, запечатленная мысль пластическая «формула» образа. «Для себя выверил идею – рука тебя ведет, пульсирует все твое существо. «Объем «лепится» кистью, массой краски. Удивительная, непостижимая, кажется, только ему одному доступная система лессировки. Чувство цвета, его мерцание, глубина. И какая-то особенная «сделанность» работ, высокая «аккуратность» формы.

Предпочтение отдает холсту. Исконному материалу живописи, удивительно платичному материалу. «Контакт с холстом – акт высочайшего откровения».

Работает под музыку: арт-рок. Любит Гайдна, Моцарта, Мусоргского. Тема Города (именно с большой буквы) отчетливо прослеживается в творчестве художника. Работа «Архангел, покидающий город». Любимый Киев, так варварски уничтожаемый – разрушенные памятники, снесенные «старые» дома. Архангел Михаил – старинный герб города. Сейчас он его покидает. Вернется ли?

Другой холст, который так и называется «Город». Здесь откровенное конструирование образа – город – символ.

Следующее развитие этой темы: Демон, Чернобыльский Фантом, нависший над всеми нами и над городом. Сюрреалистическая картина, ассоциативный ряд которой ведет к вратам ада и вратам рая. Мы – в «зоне», «под колпаком», и выход из него – духовное очищение – такова модель художника.

Картины Нагурного рождают ощущение какой-то грандиозной общности. Вероятно, это общность людей перед лицом экологической катастрофы, близость в горе и нужде.

В последнее время Нагурного все более и более влекут формально-стилистические поиски. Иногда это – почти по Френсису Бэкону – плод «преображающего воздействия культивированных случайностей краски» («Мост»), иногда мысль, воплощенная в «ритмическую идею» («Отражение»).

Недавно Нагурный возвратился из Литвы – работал два месяца с группой художников в Доме творчества в Паланге. Привез оттуда много новых работ и сильных впечатлений. «Из Украины сейчас вывозят духовное богатство – говорит с горечью, — а мы сами отдаем все без разбору. Это губительно для культуры. А в Литве все это делается серьезно, конструктивно, выгодно для общества, и для художника. Хочу, чтобы и у нас так было».

Нина Велигодская,
канд. искусствоведения